Level 2, 15-31 Pelham Street, Carlton VIC 3053
Phone 03 9653 1700 | Fax 03 9653 1750
Self Service Certificate Download

The Victorian Pharmacy Authority (the Authority) commenced operation on 24 August 2010. It is established under the Pharmacy Regulation Act 2010 (the Act) with the Minister for Health as the responsible Minister. It is the successor in law to the Pharmacy Board of Victoria.

The Authority consists of members appointed by the Governor in Council on the nomination of the Minister. Three must be registered pharmacists, one must be an Australian lawyer and one must be a person who is not a registered pharmacist.

The Authority is supported by a Registrar (Chief Executive Officer), Chief Financial Officer, Senior Pharmacist and other staff.

From 28 April 2020 the members are as follows:

David McConville BPharm MPS AACPA MAICD (Pharmacist Member)

Authority Chairperson and pharmacist member David McConville graduated from the Victorian College of Pharmacy in 1990 and is a partner in a community pharmacy in Balwyn North. Specialty areas of pharmacy of interest to David include Pharmacotherapy, Pain management and Aged Care. David is a member of the Clinical Advisory Committee for the Area 4 Pharmacotherapy Network and was a foundation member of the Victorian Clinical Council, established to advise and provide guidance to the State government and health agencies to provide safer, better care to all Victorians.

Memberships: Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, Pharmacy Guild of Australia, AICD and AACP.

Marie Ritchie PostGradCert BA (Entrepreneurship and Business Administration) HonMem PDL (Pharmaceutical Defence Limited) (Community Member)

Marie has worked in health professional organisations since 1994; she was CEO at Pharmaceutical Defence Limited and Australian Pharmaceutical Publishing Co from 2009 – 2016. Her primary skill set combines governance, compliance and risk. She is passionate about protecting the public and improving health care. She is currently the Chair of Koo Wee Rup Regional Health Service (KRHS) and a Director of The Dolphin Research Institute. Marie is a member of the KRHS Quality, Safety and Clinical Governance Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

Memberships: Pharmaceutical Defence Limited (Honorary Member), AICD

Brendon Moar BPharm MPS (Pharmacist Member)

Pharmacist member Brendon Moar is a community pharmacist in East Gippsland. Brendon has been a community pharmacist in East Gippsland for 15 years and has experience as a pharmacy owner and operator. He has great interest and experience in aged care, integrated healthcare, indigenous and public health, and health literacy in regional communities. He is currently a board member of Bairnsdale Regional Health Service, and member of the East Gippsland Primary Health Care Network’s Clinical Advisory Committee. He has a keen interest in risk management within the health care setting, and pharmacy regulation, having previously been a member of the Pharmacy Board of Australia’s Notifications Committee.

Memberships: Pharmaceutical Society of Australia

Elizabeth Kennedy BA LLB (Hons) LLM (Melb) Grad Dip Health & Med Law GAICD (Lawyer Member)

Elizabeth Kennedy has had a 40-year legal career specialising in health law. She is Adjunct Professor, Monash University Department of Epidemiology and Preventative Medicine and a board member of East Melbourne Primary Health Care Network, Western Health and the Australian Psychological Society

Memberships: Law Institute of Victoria, The Medico –Legal Society of Victoria, Association of Corporate Counsel Australia, Australian Institute of Company Directors
She has held several not-for-profit board appointments throughout her career, including Director Monash Medical Centre, Alzheimer’s Victoria, Family Planning Victoria, Royal Women’s Hospital Foundation Ltd and the Victorian Cytology Service.

Memberships: Law Institute of Victoria, The Medico–Legal Society of Victoria, Association of Corporate Counsel Australia, Australian Institute of Company Directors

Cassie Fersterer BPharm MPharmPrac (Pharmacist Member)

Cassie first registered in 1997. She has practised in hospital pharmacy in both clinical and managerial roles, and also has several year’s community pharmacy experience. She spent time working in the regulatory sector for AHPRA in the administration of Pharmacy Board examinations and registration of pharmacists. She also worked for several years at SHPA supporting pharmacists in their practice. Cassie currently works at NPS MedicineWise as a clinical services specialist, using her skills as a pharmacist to educate GPs on evidenced based prescribing. She also works as an examiner for the Pharmacy Board of Australia, and is passionate about lifelong learning, integrity, quality use of medicines and serving and protecting consumers when it comes to their health.

Divesh Sanghvi BPharm (Pharmacist Member)

Divesh Sanghvi is a second-generation pharmacist and pharmacy owner. Divesh has a fundamental interest in community safety and how best community pharmacy can deliver this whilst maintaining optimal health outcomes. Throughout his career Divesh has enjoyed working collaboratively with numerous leaders in the pharmacy sector, including wholesalers, banner groups, hospitals, manufacturers and other key stakeholders, for the betterment of the community. Divesh is passionate about the role of technology in innovating the profession whilst maintaining pharmacy integrity and patient safety as non-negotiables.

Memberships: Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, Pharmacy Guild of Australia

Our Functions

The Authority has the following functions:
    (a)    to license a person to carry on a pharmacy business or a pharmacy department;
    (b)    to register the premises of a pharmacy business, pharmacy department or pharmacy depot;
    (c)    to issue standards in relation to the operation of pharmacies, pharmacy businesses, pharmacy
            departments and pharmacy depots;
    (d)    to advise the Minister on any matters relating to its functions;
    (e)    when so requested by the Minister, to give to the Minister any information reasonably required by
            the Minister;
    (f)    to keep a public register;
    (g)    any other function conferred on the Authority by or under the Act or any other Act. 

Assisting Pharmacists

The Authority will provide information for licensees and pharmacists practising in registered premises to assist them in their practice and compliance with legislation.